BLOGTOUR REVIEW – Whitechapel Autumn Of Error by Ian Porter.

Today I am on the tour for Whitechapel Autumn of Error by Ian Porter, thank you to Anne at Random Things Tours for organising it and inviting me to take part and thank you to the author and the publisher for my copy.

Pages: 384

Synopsis: Whitechapel 1888; a killer is on the loose and the newspapers are ensuring the nation knows all about not just the crimes but the terrible living conditions in which they are being perpetrated.

Nashey, a tough, scary yet charismatic man of the night, whose mother had to prostitute herself when he was a boy, knows the identity of the killer but keeps it a secret. He believes the publicity generated by the murders is forcing the authorities to address the poverty and degradation in the area. He allows the killer to remain free (whilst ensuring no more women are attacked) so the unsolved murders continue to dominate the headlines. He meets Sookey, an eccentric middle-class slummer and civilising influence. The two of them share a mutual friend, Mary Kelly, a fiery young prostitute whose back-story tells of how she was reduced to such a life.

To fund his surveillance of the killer, Nashey agrees, against his better judgement, to assist an old adversary to commit a daring night robbery under the noses of the huge police presence in the area.

Is it too late for Nashey and Mary to correct their mistakes?

My Thoughts: I know I’m always saying I’m not a fan of historical fiction, but I am a fan of true crime so the fact that this one was loosely based on the Jack The Ripper murders had me hooked from the beginning.

The writing was so real and so raw that I found myself having to put it down a few times, which isn’t like me at all, but in this instance that’s a nod to the authors brilliant writing, he had me feeling emotions so deeply that I had to take myself away from the book.

I loved Nash as a main character he’s you’re stereotypical bad boy, but yet this times he’s trying to do good, he’s trying to get to the bottom of the murders and protect the women too, just sometimes his idea of protection isn’t the same as ours.

I have a soft spot for Sookey and Mary, they were just brilliant characters, strong and powerful if a little misguided at times.

If you’re looking for a book where the descriptions are that spot on that you’ll get thrown right into the action and find yourself unable to read in the dark without looking over your shoulder the look no further because you’ve definitely found it.

🐧🩷

1 thought on “BLOGTOUR REVIEW – Whitechapel Autumn Of Error by Ian Porter.”

Leave a comment