BOOKTOUR REVIEW – The Long Way Home by Fran Clark.

Today I am on the tour for The Long Way Home by Fran Clark, thank you to Zoé at Zooloos Book Tours for organising it and inviting me to take part and thank you to the publisher and the author for my copy.

Pages: 236

Synopsis: An unexpected meeting sets Rose on a path to love and future happiness. When family secrets and even the forces of nature stack against her, the way to a happy-ever-after slips away.

On the West Indian island of Dominica in 1889, Rose was abandoned by her father Antoine on the day she was born, after her mother Nanette died in childbirth. Rose’s mixed heritage makes her an outcast to both of her parents’ families and she grows up with an adoptive family without a true sense of her identity.

When Rose turns sixteen, she meets the poor but charismatic sailor Raphael and a romantic connection blooms, only to be put on hold because of a tremendous hurricane.

Employed by wealthy widow, Elise La Fleur, Rose develops a close friendship with her. But when Elise accuses Rose of stealing her beloved locket, Rose’s world is thrown into disarray.

Can the locket be the key that unlocks her past and the secrets of her birth?

My Thoughts: this is the second book by Fran that I’ve read recently, the last one was a 5 star for me so I was a bit dubious going into this one incase it didn’t live up to my high expectations.. this one was completely different but oh my heart I think I loved it even more.

It was full of characters that you couldn’t help but care about with strong and powerful stories that you end up getting lost in because the writing is just so captivating.

It was heartbreaking in places, but had aspects that had me smiling and cheering the characters on.

It’s old in 2 timelines that on the surface seem entirely unrelated but yet they come together very seamlessly in the end.

It’s quite a short book so I don’t want to give too much away, but what I will say is that I think Fran Clark may have made me a fan of historical fiction!

🐧🩷

2 thoughts on “BOOKTOUR REVIEW – The Long Way Home by Fran Clark.”

Leave a comment