#BOOKTOUR #SPOTLIGHT – #White Crane Strikes by Ivy Ngeow – @ZooloosBT @IvyNgeow @LDNLeopardPrint #WhiteCraneStrikes #ZooloosBookTours #prdgreads

Today I’m hosting a spotlight for White Crane Strikes, I’m not officially on the tour until tomorrow, but I just wanted to tell you all about it ☺️

Synopsis: An enormous mansion. A Chinese restaurant. A baby on the way. Handyman Jerome “Jay Jay” Lee has landed a dream job. An underground tong seems to think so too.

Chicago, 1971. Jay Jay’s girlfriend wants a big knock-’em-dead wedding and a new bigger apartment with the whole ball of wax. Grateful when her art world schmoozing lands him a fixer-upper gig for a wealthy arts patron, he has no idea about the sleeping dragon he’s about to wake. His boss gets him a Chinatown side hustle, and Jay Jay looks the other way when he overhears an organized crime conversation for fear of losing the much-needed extra income and takeout treats. But when the Chinese restaurant manager vanishes, Jay Jay is trapped in threatening tong talk and the chow is now no fun. His family is now deep in hot soup.

Will Jay Jay be able to save them before he’s crispier than a burnt wonton?

White Crane Strikes is a standalone. Fans of Lehane, Ovidia Yu and Naomi Hirahara, who like compelling characters, stirring settings and surprising twists, will love this smart and witty thriller.

If you like the sound of this it can be bought here!!

About The Author:

Born and raised in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, Ivy Ngeowis the author of three published novels and numerous short stories, one of which has been performed and broadcast on the BBC World Service.

Others have been published in literary journals such as Burning Press, Lunate, Fixi Novo anthology and andalso broadsheets like The Straits Times.

Her debut novel won the 2016 International ProversePrize, and was published in Hong Kong in 2017. She holds an MA from Middlesex University where she was awarded the University’s 2005 Literary Press Prize, an international competition, out of 1500 entrants. Most recently, she was editor of Asian Anthology New Writing Vol.1 which was published in Feb 2022 in London.

Her lates novel was on a longlist of 12 for the 2021 Avons x Mushens Entertainment Prize for commercial fiction by a BAME writer. Ivy is a regular suburban mum who loves dogs, cake and piano-pounding. She lives in London.

🐧❤️

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s