BOOKTOUR REVIEW – The Chef by Robin Mahle.

Today I am on the tour for The Chef by Robin Mahle, thank you to Zoé at Zooloos Book Tours for organising it and inviting me to take part and thank you to the author and the publisher for my copy.

Pages: 320

Synopsis: Hiring him might be the most dangerous mistake I ever made . . .

I started as a server in a New York restaurant. That’s where I met my husband, Dante.

Now we’re opening our own restaurant in Los Angeles. It’s our dream come true.

But it feels like it’s turning into a nightmare. We’re nearly out of money. I had to fire our head chef after he ‘accidentally’ stabbed me. And now I’ve caught my husband flirting with a waitress. He used to flirt with me like that.

Then Chef Marco shows up. The answer to our prayers. He’s cooked in top restaurants all over Europe. He also has the most stunning green eyes. We hire him on the spot.

Now the nightmare really begins . . .

My Thoughts: this one was something a little bit different for me, normally the thrillers I read are based around a home or very police/detective focussed, I think this might be one of the first restaurant based thrillers I’ve read, so that added something new and exciting for me.

The story itself started off slow, we’re just getting to know Kira and Dante and their restaurant team, from a first look it seems things are going well, but it doesn’t take long for us to see through the cracks and work out that secrets are being kept and lies are being told..

It’s a book told from multiple perspectives which I always love as it shows you a well rounded view of the story & the surroundings and also helps you to work on it how the characters are feeling towards each other.

When Marco comes on the scene it seems like all their problems are solved, but what they don’t realise is that bigger ones may just be around the corner, he’s always there, hearing and seeing things which is definitely not a coincidence, he made me as the reader feel incredibly uncomfortable which is always a bit of a bonus with this kind of book, it means the writing is great!

This one will keep you in your toes throughout, and will possibly make you never want to go out to eat ever again 😂

🐧🩷

1 thought on “BOOKTOUR REVIEW – The Chef by Robin Mahle.”

Leave a comment