BLOGTOUR REVIEW – The infinite Stranger by Wendy Skorupski.

Today I am on the tour for Infinite Stranger by Wendy Skorupski, thank you to Anne at Random Things Tours for organising it and inviting me to take part and thank you to the author and the publisher for my copy.

Pages: 418

Synopsis: On a snowy February morning in 1978, eighteen-year-old Leah Cavanagh meets Brother Matthew Haddon while on a retreat with her Catholic girls’ school. The four days she spends at Greystones Abbey in the wilds of North Yorkshire will have a profound impact not only on her own life, but also on that of her single mother Molly, who never recovered from the murder of her fiancé in 1956.

Leah and Matthew start writing to each other. Soon a tentative friendship develops, with a hint of more. The longing that Leah feels is shared vicariously by Molly, who sees something of her late fiancé in a photograph that Leah shows her of the handsome young monk. When Leah leaves home to study at music college, her feelings for Matthew deepen and she has difficulty committing to other relationships.

Over the coming years Leah keeps returning to Greystones Abbey, spurred by her infatuation for Matthew. The forbidden desire between them grows in intensity with each visit, until it seems impossible that the monk’s vows of chastity will remain unbroken. Soon Leah finds herself unable to break free – neither from her controlling mother, nor her enigmatic yet tortured monk – and realises that choices will have to be made.

My Thoughts: this was one of the most complex romance books I’ve ever read, because it spans such a long period of time, but also I guess because it wasn’t the only theme to the book, a big part of it was Leah’s relationship with her mum and how that has changed/developed over the years.

The book was so hard to put down because no matter what Leah did in her life, the people she met, the relationships she had throughout her life, she was always drawn back to brother Matthew at Greystones Abbey.. probably not helped by her mother who can’t seem to let Leah make her own decisions and reminds her of Brother Matthew and their “true love” at every moment possible, I remember thinking it was sweet and first and then it got pushy and made me feel incredibly uncomfortable.

The story had so many layers and made me feel so many emotions that it was hard to keep track, one second I’d be laughing and the next I’d be welling up, the writing had a haunted quality that left me captivated throughout & the fact that is based on true events makes it even more incredible.

This is my first dive into Wendy’s writing but I will definitely be reading her other book when I get chance.

🐧🩷

1 thought on “BLOGTOUR REVIEW – The infinite Stranger by Wendy Skorupski.”

Leave a comment